New Immigration Rules!

On 10 June 2013, the Home Office announced a number of changes to the Immigration Rules, which will come into force on 1 July 2013.

They include:

  • changes to the documents required for approved English language tests;
  • clarification that ‘regulated financial institutions’ means those regulated to provide personal savings accounts or student loans;
  • more legal courses are now exempt from the time limit on study for Tier 4 student visas; and
  • a resident labour market test is not needed for applications for a religious worker (Tier 5) extension.


Other changes include:

  • some minor updates and clarifications to the family Immigration Rules;
  • changes to the list of financial institutions in Bangladesh and Ghana from which documents can be verified.
  • Tuberculosis screening is now required in more countries including:
    • China;
    • Cameroon;
    • Ethiopia;
    • Gambia;
    • Hong Kong;
    • Indonesia;
    • Macau;
    • Malawi;
    • Morocco;
    • Sierra Leone;
    • Uganda;
    • Vietnam; and
    • Zambia.


If you have any concerns regarding these changes, please contact Migra & Co for legal advice.

The content of this article is for general use and information only. Since each case should be prepared on its own merit and in light of the constant amendments to the Immigration Rules, it is important to note that the information provided must not be relied upon unless Migra & Co has either given written consent or has been officially engaged in relation to a specific immigration matter. As a result, Migra & Co will take no responsibility for any damage, cost or loss resulting from relying on the information contained in this article, blog and website.