Ring-fenced treaty on no-deal rights of Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein

The UK Government states that the rights of three EEA countries will be protected if the UK were to leave the EU without a deal. These EEA citizens are from Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

The Home Office has confirmed that these EFTA nationals would retain the same rights to work, study and access public services and benefits in the UK as they have at present.

In addition, Switzerland and Ireland will also have the same protection, irrespective of whether the UK were to leave the European Economic Area with or without a deal.

However, campaign groups have been calling for the same ring-fenced protection for all EEA nationals on the basis of fairness and equal treatment.

Contact Our Immigration Team

For pragmatic advice regarding a prospective application as a European national or a family member of an EEA, please contact our immigration team of experts on 0203 384 3075 or complete our enquiry form below.