Skilled Worker Visa


The Skilled Worker Visa replaced the Tier 2 General Visa category on 1 December 2020.


Please note that current Tier 2 migrants are not required to switch, but should instead apply for Further Leave to Remain or Indefinite Leave to Remain as a Skilled Worker, when it is time to extend or apply for Indefinite Leave to Remain.


An applicant will need to accrue 70 points (50 points are mandatory) in order to qualify for a Skilled Worker visa. The job must be genuine and the applicant must have the relevant experience, skills and qualifications to do it.


Requirements for a Skilled Worker Visa


An applicant will still need to meet the following requirements:

  • Have a job offer from a licensed Tier 2 A rated sponsor;
  • CoS- Have a defined or undefined CoS for the relevant role;
  • Job offer skill level- This will need to be at level 3 of the Regulation Qualifications Framework (RQF);
  • Relevant annual salary threshold- £20,800 for new entrants, £25,600 for experienced workers or the relevant Standard Occupational Code list (SOC) salary minimum, whichever is higher;
  • Maintenance requirements- Applicants will need to have held £1,270 for 28 days. However, this is reduced to £285 for a dependant partner, £315 for the first child and £200 for each subsequent child.
  • English language requirement- applicants may be required to take an English language test (level B1), depending on their country of nationality or on the academic qualification held.


Skilled Worker extension of stay in the UK


Migrants wishing to extend their visa in the UK, must meet the requirements similar to those for entry clearance such as:

  • The migrant must have been assigned an undefined CoS for the same role;
  • The job must continue to be at the appropriate skill level;
  • The migrant must continue to be paid at the appropriate skill level.


Settlement in the UK


Leave to enter/remain as a Skilled Worker may lead to settlement upon completion of 5 years in the UK subject to meeting the relevant requirements. Applicants can include time spent in the visa categories listed below, as part of the 5-year period.

  • Skilled worker;
  • Global talent;
  • Innovator;
  • T2 Minister of Religion;
  • T2 Sportsperson;
  • Representative of an Overseas Business;
  • Tier 1 Migrant, other than as a Tier 1 (Graduate Entrepreneur) Migrant.


Applicants will need to meet similar requirements to those for their extension application. In addition, applicants are allowed absences of no more than 180 days per year, over the 5-year period. This includes business trips and holidays.


Contact us to book a consultation on +44 20 3384 3075, email: [email protected] or use the contact form below.

Contact Us